ACHA Lifetime Achievement Award

​​​The ACHA Lifetime Achievement Award is the highest honor that the American College of Healthcare Architects can bestow on an architect. It is conferred by the national ACHA Board of Regen​ts in recognition of a significant body of work of lasting influence on the theory and practice of healthcare architecture.

UPDATE FOR 2020:  The Past President’s Council has determined to suspend the Lifetime Achievement Award process for 2020. In order for our certificants and industry to focus on the COVID-19 crisis and allow for revisions to the program, we will re-open the process in 2021.

ACHA Lifetime Achievement Award Criteria​​.

2019 Lifetime Achievement Award Winner 
David Allison, F​​AIA, FACHA

Tobey.jpg​As Alumni Distinguished Professor of Architecture and Director of Graduate Studies in Architecture + Health at Clemson University, David has guided the program to prominence within higher education, building on the shoulders of the late educational pioneer George C. Means, Jr., FAIA.  Research studies in which David has participated span from new concepts in patient room design to analysis of space grossing factors.  

Allison is a Founding Member of the College.  His professional organization contributions include current service on the ACHA Board of Regents, and past leadership in the AIA Academy of Architecture for Health Board, the Academy Foundation.  In addition, for more than ten years, David has led the annual Architecture + Health Educators Summit, at which he chairs a major roundtable meeting for all U.S. healthcare architecture programs to exchange ideas and advance the quality of education.

In 1990, when Frank Zilm, D.Arch, FAIA, FACHA and the late Arthur N. Tuttle, Jr. had developed the concept of a student design charrette, they approached David, the then newly appointed as Director of Graduate Studies in Architecture + Health, to help initiate this idea.  He led and established the AIA/AAH Steris Student Design Charrette as one or the most successful components of Academy meetings, and the successors of the early charrette program have continued to thrive at both major annual national meetings for decades.

David's affirmation of this award comes by unanimous recommendation by the ACHA Past Presidents Council and unanimous approval by ACHA Board of Regents.

Allison is one of only 17 luminary healthcare architects who have won this prestigious honor. Other recipients include:  D. Kirk Hamilton, PhD, FAIA, FACHA, Ronald Skaggs, FAIA, FACHA and Armand Burgun, FAIA, FACHA.


Past Recipients of the ACHA Lifetime Achievement Award

  • 2018 - Phil Tobey, FAIA, FACHA
  • 2017 - John Pangrazio, FAIA, FACHA​
  • 2016 - James R. Diaz​​, FAIA, FACHA
  • 2015 - H. Ralph Hawkins, FAIA, FACHA
  • 2014 - Frank S. Zilm, D.Arch., FAIA, FACHA
  • 2013 - E. Todd Wheeler, FAIA, posthumous
  • 2012 - James O. Jonassen, FAIA, FACHA, RAIC
  • 2011 - Morris A. Stein, FAIA, FACHA
  • 2010 - D.Kirk Hamilton, FAIA, FACHA / Joseph G. Sprague, FAIA, FACHA
  • 2009 - Eberhard Zeidler, OC, O.Ont., Dipl.Ing., LL.D., D.Eng., D.Arch., FRAIC, RCA, OAA, MAIBC, OAQ, Hon. FAIA
  • 2008 - Derek Parker, FAIA, FACHA, RIBA
  • 2007 – Ronald L. Skaggs, FAIA, FACHA, FHFI
  • 2006 - Martin H. Cohen, FAIA, FACHA
  • 2005 - Wilbur “Tib” Tusler, FAIA, FACHA
  • 2004 - Armand Burgun FAIA, FACHA
  • 2003 - Rex Allen, FAIA, HonFACHA

Download: ACHA Candidate Handbook/Application​ (PDF)​

*Note: Turn off your pop-up blocker program. Get Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDFs online.​​​​​​​​​

American College of Healthcare Architects
4400 College Blvd Suite 220
Overland Park, KS 66211

Phone: 913-222-8653
Fax: 913-222-8606